15 Filmmakers selected for ttff Workshop

Photo: Annemarie Morais

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170316/features/15-filmmakers-selected-for-ttff-workshop published on Mar 16, 2017 (Trinidad Express)

Fifteen local filmmakers and writers have been selected to participate in a trinidad+tobago film festival (ttff) screenwriting workshop, to be held in partnership with the Canadian High Commission.

The three-day intensive workshop will be facilitated by Canadian-Jamaican film professional, Annemarie Morais, from March 24-26. Under her guidance, participants will be supported in further developing their screenwriting skills, to international industry standards.

The 15 selected participants are:

1. Eric Barry

2. Keon Francis

3. Francesca Hawkins

4. Thais Henry-Ramos

5. Barbara Jenkins

6. Ayesha Jordon

7. Jason Marcano

8. Robert McFarlane

9. Oswald “Ozy” Merrick

10. Siobhan Millette

11. Brendan O'Brien

12. Josiah Persad

13. Andreii Pierre

14. Kavita Rajpath

15. Kwasi Shade


About Annemarie Morais

A graduate of York University's Film and Video Production programme, in 1999 Annmarie Morais was the first Canadian to receive a Nicholl Screenwriting Fellowship, sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences. Considered screenwriting's most prestigious competition, Morais won for her dramatic feature film script Bleeding.

Her inaugural feature film How She Move was a 2007 Sundance Film Festival Selection, and received worldwide release through US distributor Paramount Vantage. She has written for major TV networks including CBS, SyFy and Canada's Global TV.

The ttff celebrates films from and about the Caribbean and its diaspora, as well as from world cinema, through an annual festival and year-round screenings. In addition, the ttff seeks to facilitate the growth of Caribbean cinema by offering a wide-ranging industry programme and networking opportunities.

For further information visit: ttfilmfestival.com